# BOUNDARY COMMISSION ST. LOUIS COUNTY, MISSOURI MEETING MINUTES

### January 24, 2012

#### **ROLL CALL**

Commissioners Present: Bill Bergfeld, TR Carr, Thomas Freesmeier, Bill Sauerwein, John Schuster, Kathleen Schweitzer, and Janet Wilding,

Commissioners Absent: Frank Ollendorff, Maureen Ramshaw and Jack Schwartz

Commission Staff Present: Michelle Dougherty, Executive Director; Elizabeth Chostner,

Legal Counsel

Others present: None

Chairman Sauerwein called the meeting to order at 6:37 p.m., January 24, 2012. The meeting was held in the 8<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room, 41 S. Central in Clayton, MO 63105.

# ROLL IS CALLED – QUORUM DECLARED

Roll was called and a quorum declared by Ms. Chostner.

#### APPROVE AGENDA

Mr. Carr made a motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

#### APPROVE MINUTES

Mr. Freesmeier made a motion to approve the minutes of December 20, 2011. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

### STAFF REPORT

Ms. Dougherty stated there had been a little more activity in the office with questions about the map plan process. In addition, Committeeman Ted Brown had begun faxing his petitions to incorporate Castlepoint to the office. Ms. Dougherty gave the new commissioners a brief summary of Committeeman Brown's history with the Commission.

Ms. Dougherty stated the office has a new copier that is saving the Commission \$70/month and that they were in the process of amending the lease for the space at 168 N. Meramec to drop the second parking spot which St. Louis Parking Company is now charging the Commission \$80/month per the lease.

Chairman Sauerwein updated the Commission about the follow-up efforts with the Municipal League regarding statements and out-dated perceptions about the Boundary Commission. Chairman Sauerwein met with the President of the League and Tim Fischesser, the executive director, and agreed to have the Commission make a presentation at their March meeting.

### PUBLIC COMMENTS

There was no public comment.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

A. Committee Assignments for 2012

Chairman Sauerwein made the following appointments:

Budget Committee: Kathleen Schweitzer, Bill Bergfeld, Tom Freesmeier

Personnel Committee: Bill Sauerwein, TR Carr, Janet Wilding

Nominating Committee: John Schuster, Jack Schwartz, Maureen Ramshaw

# **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

# ADJOURNMENT

Ms. Schweitzer made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*. The meeting was adjourned at 6:52 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Dougherty Executive Director

Approved: February 28, 2012