# BOUNDARY COMMISSION ST. LOUIS COUNTY, MISSOURI MEETING MINUTES

December 20, 2011

### **ROLL CALL**

Commissioners Present: Bill Bergfeld, Bill Sauerwein, John Schuster, Jack Schwartz, and Kathleen Schweitzer, Janet Wilding, Maureen Ramshaw, (arrived 6:38 p.m.), and Don Wojtkowski. Commissioners Absent: TR Carr, Thomas Freesmeier, and Frank Ollendorff

Commission Staff Present: Michelle Dougherty, Executive Director; Elizabeth Chostner, Legal Counsel

Others present: Lori Fiegel, St. Louis County Planning Department

Chairman Schuster called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m., December 20, 2011. The meeting was held in the 8<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room, 41 S. Central in Clayton, MO 63105.

## ROLL IS CALLED – QUORUM DECLARED

Roll was called and a quorum declared by Ms. Chostner.

## APPROVE AGENDA

Mr. Sauerwein made a motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

## APPROVE MINUTES

Ms. Schweitzer made a motion to approve the minutes of November 15, 2011. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

# FINANCIAL REPORT – Year-End Budget

Ms. Dougherty stated the Commission continues to be under budget and should end the year with a surplus of approximately \$70K. Mr. Wojtkowski made a motion to accept the Year-End Budget financial report. Mr. Sauerwein seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

#### STAFF REPORT

Ms. Dougherty stated the website has been restored to its earlier functionality before the godaddy.com problem. In addition to her report, Ms. Dougherty stated she had been hit by a nasty computer virus over Thanksgiving but that her laptop has been "re-built" and is virus-free. Ms. Dougherty compiled and distributed to the commission members present a list of the Outcomes for Proposals submitted to the Boundary Commission between 2000-2010. This was as a result of statements made by Doug Harms, City Manager for the City of Des Peres, to state legislators at a recent sales tax forum. She sent the same information to the Municipal League and St. Louis County.

Ms. Dougherty also gave the commission members present the list of meetings for 2012.

### PUBLIC COMMENTS

Lori Fiegel of St. Louis County Planning Department wanted to thank Don Wojtkowski for his 15 years of his service to the Boundary Commission. In addition, Ms. Fiegel stated a new planning department representative would be attending the Boundary Commission meetings starting in January.

Mr. Wojtkowski stated it had been a fun, sometimes frustrating time on the Commission. And that he wouldn't have done it for so long if he didn't think it was a necessary and worthy endeavor. He said the last ten years of the commission have been an example of unbiased, rational review and consideration of all the factors impacting proposals. He thanked Ms. Dougherty for her professionalism and Chairman Schuster for his leadership during the last two years.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

A. Election of Officers for the Year 2012

The Nominating Committee submitted Bill Sauerwein for Chairman, Kathleen Schweitzer for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair and Tom Freesmeier for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair. Chairman Schuster opened up the floor for nominations.

## Nominations for Chairman

Mr. Bergfeld made a motion to nominate Bill Sauerwein for Chairman. Mr. Schwartz seconded the nomination. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*. Mr. Wojtkowski made a motion to close nominations for Chairman. Mr. Sauerwein seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

## Nominations for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chairman

Mr. Sauerwein made a motion to nominate Kathleen Schweitzer 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair. Mr. Schwartz seconded the nomination. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

Mr. Wojtkowski made a motion to close nominations for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair. Mr. Schwartz seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

# Nominations for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair

Mr. Bergfeld made a motion to nominate Tom Freesmeier for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair. Mr. Schwartz seconded the nomination. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

Mr. Wojtkowski made a motion to close nominations for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair. Mr. Bergfeld seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

The officers for 2012 elected by secret ballot are: Bill Sauerwein, Chairperson; Kathleen Schweitzer, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair; Tom Freesmeier 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

There was no old business.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Prior to adjournment, Chairman Schuster thanked Don Wojtkowski for his many years of service and his guidance throughout.

Ms. Schweitzer made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Wojtkowski seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed.* The meeting was adjourned at 6:47 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Dougherty Executive Director

Approved: January 24, 2012