# BOUNDARY COMMISSION ST. LOUIS COUNTY, MISSOURI MEETING MINUTES

## November 13, 2007

#### ROLL CALL

Commissioners Present: Matt Armstrong, Ted Armstrong, Christine Bredenkoetter, Bob Ford, Frank Kenney, Johnnie Spears, Edward Thibeault, and Don Wojtkowski (arrived 6:37 p.m.). Commissioners Absent: Greg Kloeppel, Mary Schuman, and John Schuster

Commission Staff Present: David Hamilton, Legal Counsel.

Chairman Armstrong called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m., November 13, 2007. The meeting was held at the St. Louis County Government Center, 8<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room, 41 S. Central, Clayton, Missouri.

# ROLL IS CALLED – QUORUM DECLARED

Roll was called and a quorum declared by Mr. Hamilton.

## APPROVE AGENDA

Mr. T. Armstrong made a motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Kenney seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

#### APPROVE MINUTES

Mr. Kenney made a motion to approve the minutes. Mr. Spears seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

#### **REPORTS**

Personnel Committee. Ms. Bredenkoetter stated that the Boundary Commission is approaching December when a contribution to Ms. Dougherty's retirement account. Mr. Ford asked if in November 2006 did the commission agree to contribute up to a certain percentage based upon her performance. Discussion ensued among the commissioners. Chairman Armstrong suggested that Ms. Bredenkoetter put together an e-mail regarding what needs to be done regarding the retirement contribution and he would then distribute it to the rest of the commission.

## **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

# NEW BUSINESS

Officer Nominations.

Chairman Armstrong stated he had received a phone call from Mr. Schuster indicating he was willing to serve as 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair. Chairman Armstrong nominated Mr. Schuster for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair. Chairman Armstrong also stated that Ms. Bredenkoetter has offered to serve as Chairman. Chairman Armstrong nominated Ms. Bredenkoetter to serve as chair. Ms. Bredenkoetter nominated Mr. Spears for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair, however Mr. Hamilton informed the group that according to the by-laws Mr. Spears was 'term-limited' out. Mr. T. Armstrong nominated Mr. Ford for 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair. Chairman Armstrong asked if there

were any more nominations. Mr. T. Armstrong made a motion to close the nominations. Mr. Kenney seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*.

Chairman Armstrong reminded everyone that the actual vote would take place at the December meeting. Mr. T. Armstrong asked if the vote was by secret ballot. Mr. Hamilton responded that the by-laws state that the ballots can be cast confidentially but are included in the public record.

## **OLD BUSINESS**

Mr. Hamilton provided for those Commissioners not present at October's meeting an update on the oral arguments in the Valley Park appeal.

Mr. Ford asked when Chairman Armstrong when his resignation becomes effective. Chairman Armstrong replied that he had asked to be relieved effective December 31, 2007 but as of yet not been informed of his replacement. Chairman Armstrong stated he would serve on the Boundary Commission until his replacement is found.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Mr. Ford made a motion to adjourn. Mr. T. Armstrong seconded the motion. Voice vote: Ayes, All. Nays, None. *The motion passed*. The meeting was adjourned at 6:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Michelle Dougherty Executive Director

Approved: December 11, 2007